RSS Feed

Rules = Broken

I have just broken the wedding rules.  I actually might have broken several in one go.  And you know what? It’s amazing.

So what have I done that could set the wedding industry after me with torches and menacing farm tools?  I bought a dress.  I bought a dress without having tried on a single dress.  I bought it on an impulse that this was the right thing to do for me.  I do not have a theme picked out for my wedding.  I don’t even have a venue picked out.  Actually, I haven’t even visited a single venue, nor talked to a caterer, florist, DJ, or any other person who whom I’m suppose to speak before buying a dress.  I have only a vague idea that we will get married next fall and I will knit myself a red lace shawl.

I’m sure some of you are balking right now.  But you know what?  I’m pleased as punch.  I found a dress I’d been eyeing on the web that retails for $350 for $80 on ebay.  I love my dress and I love that I spent what feels like a reasonable amount of money for it.  And now I don’t have to worry about finding the time to get dress shopping.  I can just day dream about how pretty I’ll look at where ever it is that I end up getting married.

Seriously, this is amazing.  After my ebay dress success, I feel empowered to take on the rest of this wedding craziness because I know breaking those crazy wedding rules is ok.

Leave a Reply

